Fiction Friday: The Killswitch Review – Chapter Eleven, Part Three
May 2012 11

Fiction Friday: The Killswitch Review – Chapter Eleven, Part Three  

Posted In Art,Blog,Books,Entertainment,Fiction,Geek,Internuts

by Steven-Elliot Altman (SG Member: Steven_Altman)

Our Fiction Friday serialized novel, The Killswitch Review, is a futuristic murder mystery with killer sociopolitical commentary (and some of the best sex scenes we’ve ever read!). Written by bestselling sci-fi author Steven-Elliot Altman (with Diane DeKelb-Rittenhouse), it offers a terrifying postmodern vision in the tradition of Blade Runner and Brave New World

By the year 2156, stem cell therapy has triumphed over aging and disease, extending the human lifespan indefinitely. But only for those who have achieved Conscientious Citizen Status. To combat overpopulation, the U.S. has sealed its borders, instituted compulsory contraception and a strict one child per couple policy for those who are permitted to breed, and made technology-assisted suicide readily available. But in a world where the old can remain vital forever, America’s youth have little hope of prosperity.

Jason Haggerty is an investigator for Black Buttons Inc, the government agency responsible for dispensing personal handheld Kevorkian devices, which afford the only legal form of suicide. An armed “Killswitch” monitors and records a citizen’s final moments — up to the point where they press a button and peacefully die. Post-press review agents — “button collectors” — are dispatched to review and judge these final recordings to rule out foul play.

When three teens stage an illegal public suicide, Haggerty suspects their deaths may have been murders. Now his race is on to uncover proof and prevent a nationwide epidemic of copycat suicides. Trouble is, for the first time in history, an entire generation might just decide they’re better off dead.

(Catch up with the previous installments of Killswitch – see links below – then continue reading after the jump…)

[Keep Reading...]

From The Archives: Helena Bonham Carter – Corpse Bride
May 2012 11

From The Archives: Helena Bonham Carter – Corpse Bride  

Posted In Blog,Entertainment,Interviews,Movies

by Daniel Robert Epstein


“All animators are somewhat anal, because it is all about detail.”
- Helena Bonham Carter

Helena Bonham Carter is stunning in person, both her looks and her wonderfully acerbic personality. For someone that’’s done mostly serious roles, it’’s very cool to hear her make fun of herself. She obviously enjoyed being the titular character in Corpse Bride not only because her partner, Tim Burton, made the film but because it’’s an exceptional dark tale that surpasses it’s predecessor, The Nightmare Before Christmas in every way possible.

Read our exclusive interview with Helena Bonham Carter on SuicideGirls.com.

Tease of the Day
May 2012 11

Tease of the Day  

Posted In Blog,Tease

Ajilee Suicide in Winters Light

  • INTO: Music, make up, sleeping, BBQs, Asian food.
  • NOT INTO: Egotistical assholes, small talk.
  • MAKES ME HAPPY: Having milk in the fridge, my cats getting along, lounging around in bed, Sephora. M.A.C., amazing new tunes, baths, fixing things.
  • 5 THINGS I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT: Chapstick, gum, makeup, iPod, and a good pillow!
  • VICES: Makeup, anything mint, gum.
  • I SPEND MOST OF MY FREE TIME: On the couch.

Get to know Ajilee better over at SuicideGirls.com!